Uisce beatha na h-Alban/Scotch Whisky

Uisce beatha na h-Alban/Scotch Whisky,
Here we dismantle the whisky, explaining the types and blends, firstly please note that Scottish whisky is normally referred to simply as "Scotch" and spelt without an e in whisky.

Scotch whisky is divided into five distinct categories:
Single Malt Scotch Whisky,
Single Grain Scotch Whisky,
Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (formerly called "vatted malt" or "pure malt"), Blended Grain Scotch Whisky,
Blended Scotch Whisky.
All Scotch whisky must be aged in oak barrels for at least three years. Any age statement written on a bottle of Scotch whisky, in the form of a number, must reflect the age of the youngest whisky used to produce that product. A whisky with an age statement is known as guaranteed age whisky.
The first claimed written mention of Scotch whisky is in the Exchequer Rolls of Scotland, 1495. A Friar named John Cor was the distiller.

No comments:

Post a Comment